Adi Shakti Peeth Temples

Shakti means manifestations of the goddess of Dakshayani, Sati, Parvati or Durga, the main deity of power in Hinduism . As per legend on the death of the goddess Sati ,Out of grief and sorrow, Shiva carried Sati's body, and roamed around the universe with it. Shakti Peethas are where different parts of Goddess Shakti have fallen when Lord Vishnu's Chakra, Sudarshana Chakra, cut through the corpse of Sati , which fell on Earth to become sacred sites or Shakti Peeth of Goddess Sati.

There are totally 51 such locations .There are 4 Adi Shaktipeetha located in the Puri Jagarnath Temple complex, Berhampur Taratarini Temple, Kamakhya Guwahati Temple, and the Kolkata Kalighat Kali temple, in addition to these four there are 51 famous Peethas scattered across India and neighboring countries and 18 of these are universally accepted as Shaki Peethas and are collectively known as Maha Shakti Peethas. Book Tour Package to Adi Shaktippeth Temples

4 Adi Shakti Peethas:
1 - Vimala Shaktipeeth Temple inside Puri Jagannath Temple Complex Odisha
2 - The Taratarini Temple
3- Kamakhya Guwahati, Assam
4- Kalighat Kali Temple, Kolkata West Bengal